Reviews

Alissa Moghtaderi

reviewed 2 weeks ago

A friend of mine who is himself a (super fastidious) lawyer recommended Michael Resko to us when we were buying our first co-op apartment. He said, “Listen, you have to use this guy. He’s amazing. He’s smart, he’s knows what he’s doing, he’ll take care of you.” Truth. Mike is great. He was thorough, responsive, capable, and, when we finally met him in person at the closing, surprisingly cool. He was especially good about putting things in context for us–not just reporting facts, but telling us what mattered and what didn’t, what was normal and what wasn’t. We went into the purchase confident that we knew what we were getting into and happy about it. All that, plus his fee was a little less than I had feared we would have to spend. I’m hoping we won’t move again for a long time, but we’ll definitely use Mike again when we do!

Vanessa Moy

reviewed 3 weeks ago

I highly recommend working with Mike Resko if you’re in need of a real estate attorney. He is extremely responsive, dedicated and knowledgable. He helped me purchase my first co-op in Manhattan and was always available when I had any questions or needed advice.

Laura Clancy

reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mike helped us purchase our first coop in Manhattan. I have recommended to all of my friends and colleagues who are making a similar move since. He was incredibly responsive, thorough, a straight shooter and always looked out for our best interests. We have had some unexpected complications with the seller since the purchase finished and he has been completely on top of it and knowledgeable.

Nishant Chhetri

reviewed 5 weeks ago

Michael Resko is a great attorney–decades of experience, deeply knowledgeable, and committed to rendering accurate and timely legal advice to his clients. He is soft spoken, a gentleman, and a pleasure to work with. He has a very great response time to an email and phone calls. I had to deal with worst Real-Estate Management company in Upper East Side; which he handled it very professionally and closed the deal before I lost my buyers. I recommend him as an excellent advisor and advocate for any Real Estate, buying or selling business. Thank you again for helping me close the deal on time.

Caroline Chin

reviewed a month ago

Mike Resko helped me with a potential negotiation and a closing. He gives great advice and always keeps the client’s interest a priority. He is also very thorough and detail oriented. Given he is an Adjunct Professor at New York Law School teaching courses in Real Estate Law and Contracts, it was not surprising that he knew all the sections of my contract by heart. I highly recommend Michael Resko.

Allison Le

reviewed 6 months ago

We recently purchased a coop in NYC, and Mike was great from day one. During our first conversation, he explained the process in detail and answered all our questions thoroughly. Additionally, he communicated with the coop’s management company on our behalf when we discovered that our realtor was not trustworthy. He made a difficult situation much less stressful. He was always accessible (usually responded within a few hours) and his rates were reasonable. Would definitely engage his services again.

Maya Hanna

reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mike helped us with an extremely difficult real-estate transaction — the estate of a woman who died in 1989 but whose co-executors were not able to agree on how to deal with an upper-West Side apartment nor to pay for the maintenance. Eventually, in 2012, the coop board seized the apartment for a large accumulated debt. The apartment was worth much more than the debt, but the coop planned to hold onto it indefinitely, sell it on their own terms, and pay off the debt to themselves. Mike did several essential things for us:

  1. negotiate with the board to let us renovate and sell the apartment on better terms.
  2. do the complex surrogate’s court work to transfer the executorship of the estate so that the apartment could be sold.
  3. handle the negotiation with the eventual buyer and the coop board, overcoming large obstacles imposed by the board and a skittish buyer.

We live in the Mid-West, and Mike handled everything for us in NYC. He was responsive, able to explain and advise us in this complex and delicate matter despite our utter ignorance of the applicable laws, and handled negotiations with the various parties to bring things to a successful conclusion. He saved the situation for us, even though we had never met him! I’ll add that his billing hours always seemed very reasonable for the amount of work that he was doing. He was always up to date on the developments, and easy to reach. Thanks, Mike.

Naomi Nishimura

reviewed 2 months ago

Mike helped us in closing (buying and selling) 2 apartments and 1 house in the last few years. He explained and laid out everything clearly for us in dealing with all the real estate terms that didn’t make sense to us. He is very professional and sharp, most importantly also has good sense of humor. I would highly recommend Mike to everybody.

Jessica Gladstone

reviewed 2 months ago

I highly recommend Mike Resko. He is a smart, diligent and hard working attorney who makes his clients a priority!

David Orsolino

reviewed 6 months ago

I have worked with Michael for many years. He has always been a great resource and easy to work with. He always keeps the clients interest first. He is very knowledgeable and carries things to completion. I personally have used Michael and introduced him to others. The people I have introduced Michael to have always thanked me for making the introduction.

Real Estate client

reviewed 2 years ago

Mike helped us on three separate matters, and in each case was the right man for the job. He was thorough and exact, and at every step along the way he made sure we understood the issues at hand. He is a first-class professional, and we wouldn’t consider hiring anyone else.

James

reviewed 2 years ago

I enthusiastically recommend Mike Resko. He provided much needed assistance in negotiating the lease for my new office space. He walked me through the process in a clear and concise way. I feel like we avoided potential pitfalls, but at the same time Mike was realistic about what was appropriate to request. Everything went smoothly and quickly.